The end of Pier Street, the last building before Kingston Pier.
what’s on display
This museum displays the current, or Third Settlement of people on Norfolk Island - the descendants of the Bounty mutineers.
Downstairs the story begins with the 1789 mutiny on the Bounty and discovery of Pitcairn island by the mutineers. Life on Pitcairn and the eventual resettlement to Norfolk in 1856 is covered. A listening post has fascinating recordings of the Norfolk Language. Objects include those from the Bounty (a cannon, kettle and ironstone platter) and Pitcairn Island (Codex of Laws, wooden carvings and Pitcairn Bibles).
Upstairs the displays continue to highlight aspects of Norfolk's history and culture such as Anniversary (or Bounty Day), Melanesian Mission, Religion, Domestic Life, Industry and Agriculture, Whaling, Tourism and Education. Artefacts on display include historical weavings, items from the Melanesian Mission and whaling implements.
The Pier Store was originally known as The Beach Store and was built in 1825 as a Commissariat (a Government or Military store). Located at the end of Kingston Pier, it was the most efficient and suitable place to unload goods to. After a tsunami hit the building in 1834 it was converted to a mill where corn was ground by use of hand-mills. In 1841 the upper storey became a guard-room and the lower continued to be used as a store. After the arrival of the Pitcairners in 1856 the lower floor became a customs shed and the upper storey was also used as a coffin room. A complete renovation of the building began in 1977 and it was then used as a store for lighterage gear, old crankmill machinery and pallets of beer. In 1988 the building became available for use by the Norfolk Island Museum.